The DeWitt Difference:
Giving Your Case The Attention You Deserve

Wrongful Termination FAQ

At DeWitt Law, LLC, we represent employees who have been wrongfully dismissed by their employers. Our attorney, Michael DeWitt, has more than 25 years of experience standing up for Ohio workers. He knows they often have questions after being terminated, and he has answered six of the most common ones here.

What does “wrongful termination” mean under Ohio law?

In Ohio, wrongful termination occurs when an employee is dismissed due to personal characteristics, like age, ability, gender, race, religion or sexual orientation. Wrongful termination can also happen when an employer specifically dismisses an employee as an act of retaliation, an employee who identifies as a member of a protected class or an employee who blew the whistle on corporate wrongdoing.

Am I considered an “at-will” employee in Ohio?

In Ohio, all employees are considered “at-will” unless specified otherwise in a collective bargaining or employment agreement. “At-will” employees can be terminated at any time without cause, so long as their dismissal does not violate state or federal law.

What protections do “at-will” employees have against wrongful termination in Ohio?

When “at-will” employees are terminated in Ohio, their protection depends upon their reason for dismissal. If they were let go for who they are or, in specific circumstances, for standing up to their employer, then they are protected against termination.

Are there protections for employees who are terminated after asking about unpaid overtime?

“At-will” employees in Ohio cannot be terminated for addressing wage violations, including unpaid overtime. Dismissal in this situation would likely qualify as retaliation, which state and federal rules consider illegal.

What should I do if I believe I was wrongfully terminated in Ohio?

If you were wrongfully terminated in Ohio, you should contact an employment law attorney. Having an attorney by your side is crucial for evaluating the specific nature of your dismissal, gathering evidence to support your case and establishing a strong defense against your employer.

What is the statute of limitations for filing a wrongful termination lawsuit in Ohio?

Ohio employees do not have much time to file a wrongful termination lawsuit. The state’s statute of limitations for wrongful termination cases is 90 days from the date of your dismissal. Seeking a lawyer’s help is crucial for taking legal action in a timely manner.

Contact An Employment Law Attorney Right Away

If you suspect you have been wrongfully terminated, you should act swiftly to protect yourself. DeWitt Law, LLC, offers free consultations for employment law cases. Contact us online or call us at 614-762-9641 to get help today.